Thoughts on Bookshare.org and accessible technology

I really like bookshare.org and its focus on collaboration and volunteering, such as with bookshare mentors.  I like that it offers popular books, such as those on the New York Times bestseller list, and educational texts.  I like that it has such a wide database of texts already – I remember  several years ago reading an article about the braille version of the latest Harry Potter book, and how they were releasing it at the same time as the print versions so that children who were visually impaired could read it when it was being released, and that it was the first time that had been done with a popular children’s book.   Here is a related article in School Library Journal (not the one I first read, but contains the same story): http://www.schoollibraryjournal.com/article/CA6462495.html.  Often those that are visually impaired probably have to wait at least several weeks before the book is available in braille or audiobook format.

As an educator, the topic of students with disabilities is one that is familiar and important to me.  The article “Accessible Technology Can Help Colleges and Universities Remove Barriers to Education” by Diana Oblinger and Laura Ruby was enlightening for me.  I agree with the point advocated in the article – secondary education institutions, as well as all schools, should take a proactive approach to providing accessible technology and truly embrace it.  It makes sense to me that as a university or college, you would want to be innovative and ahead of the curve in terms of accessible technology for all learners, as opposed to always scrambling to meet or catch up on federal mandates or guidelines.  The article also made me realize how important collaboration and the involvement of multiple groups within the college is – you need administration, professors, department heads, researchers to all be involved embracing and instituting the policies surrounding accessibility issues.  The example of Rio Salado College and its distance learning program made me more curious about Syracuse University.  I wonder: How long have we had our distance learning program?  What do we offer in terms of accessible technology?  How accessible is our website to those with disabilities?  I would like to explore these questions more in upcoming weeks.  The quote from Norman Coombs of EASI: “Empowerment and transformation is the true purpose of education” really resonated with me, it is something I believe.

The issue of budgetary constraints in terms of access to education for all students that the article addressed is a familiar one to me as an educator. Vermont, the state that I live in, has a policy of inclusiveness in the classroom in terms of students with disabilities.  When I worked in a small supervisory union in central Vermont, many residents often complained about the cost of special education, because we had to hire many paraprofessionals to work with students with more severe disabilities.  Residents were often not well-informed of state educational policies and how their tax dollars were spent in terms of providing student services, so they became frustrated.

Finally, when I took a students with disabilities course as part of my early childhood education training, we had an assistive technologies consultant, Phyl Macomber, come and talk to the class about assistive technologies you could use for young children with disabilities – she particularly focused on the importance of  communicating with those students and teaching them the means to express themselves with the help of assistive technology.  For more on Macomber and the trainings and resources she offers, visit this website: http://www.practicalatsolutions.com/.

 

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Thoughts on Bookshare.org and accessible technology

  1. I love reading through a post that can make people think.
    Also, thank you for permitting me to comment!

  2. Fantastic Sports Moment With Plate Network

  3. Hi, I do believe your site may be having browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your web site in
    Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful blog!

  4. Have you considered I’d like to sell my car for cash?
    There are lots of possibilities, so it may be daunting unless you
    are shown who you can trust.

  5. I’m 41 yrs . old, and I make pretty good living.
    Nevertheless,I started saving in my 401K 20 years ago.
    Not much at first, the minimum amount to get a company match (I
    think it was 6% and I got $0.50 match at that time).
    Back then I was making $10.25 an hour or roughly $21,350 yearly.

  6. Have you got any advice on setting up a blog site?
    I’m just really tired of working on the same old thing at work and
    desire something more challenging.

  7. You’re soo right. I hear about this constantly.
    Fantastic post.

  8. Exactly how does one set-up your website. I actually want to start
    related to trucks and cars, however , don’t know the
    way to really get on the ball. Any guidance is considerably valued 😉

  9. Your site is actually awesome. Can I connect with
    you on Twitter?

  10. How do I sign up for your articles?

  11. Interesting post. Might you send me to some more of your articles??

  12. This really inspires me. I just want to be able
    to write as passionately as you.

  13. Spectacular writing. Exactly what are your own sources.

    Always think it is just a little challenging to get started on.

  14. Have you any sort of advice on setting up a blog?
    I am extremely tired of doing the same old thing in the office and want something totally new.

  15. Abby

    I’m amazed, I must say. Rarsly do I come cross a blog that’s both
    educative and engaging, and let mee tell you, you hawve hit the nail oon the head.
    Thee issue iis something which not enough
    peoplle are speaing intelligentlpy about. I’m very hasppy thatt I came across thiis in my searc for something relwting tto this.

  16. I want to to tthank yyou for tis excellent read!! I defnitely loved evey little bit
    oof it. I have yyou book-marked to look at new things youu post…

Leave a Reply

