Hello fellow learners and scholars!

My name is Lis and I am a preschool teacher in Vermont.   I just started the MSLIS-School Media distance program through SU, and am excited by the prospect of being both a teacher and a student.  I am  nervous and enthusiastic  about entering the ever-changing field of library science, as I have never worked in a library before and have little social networking or tech experience.  I love picture books – some of my favorite children’s authors are Rosemary Wells, Jan Brett, and Eric Carle.  Some topics I am excited to learn more about include YA literature, social media and networking, and e-readers.

This website is called “Meerkat in the library” because meerkats are my favorite animals.  And in terms of being new to the LIS field, I feel a bit like a meerkat in a library – excited and eager to burrow and dig for knowledge and new ideas, but also a little cautious as it is a new profession to me.  I hope to soon have my own “meerkat mob” of professors, fellow students, alumni, and local librarians to help me on the journey through this exciting new field.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

